Tuesday was a momentous day for Illinois as lawmakers overwhelmingly rejected Governor Pat Quinn's Amendatory Veto of Concealed Carry legislation. This all happened on the deadline the courts gave Illinois to pass a "reasonable" law allowing some kind of carrying of firearms outside the home.
After further reviewing the legislation that passed, some of my concerns are eased. The original bill did have provisions of applicants having to provide fingerprints in order to get the permit. After reviewing the bill that passed, I feel better about the CC permit.
From the bill:
a full set of fingerprints submitted to the Department in electronic format, provided the Department may accept an application submitted without a set of fingerprints in which case the Department shall be granted 30 days in addition to the 90 days
So, you will have to wait a tad bit longer to get a permit if you don't submit fingerprints. That's fine. I can wait a bit longer. Illinoisans wanting to carry have to wait a longtime anyway. The state has 180 days to implement the law and 90 days to issue the permit ... (a right delayed is a right denied).
There's a ton more about the more-than 160 page bill including where in public carrying concealed weapons is permitted. These will all be things you will surely learn and be quizzed on when you go through your 16 hours of required training.
As for who can provide training, before going out and dropping a bunch of coin on the 16 hours of required training, you may want to wait until certified trainers are posted to the ISP website.
The bill says:
Within 60 days of the effective date of this Act, the Department shall begin approval of firearm training courses and shall make a list of approved courses available on the Department's website
At the department's website, it says trainers will have to be 21-years-old, a US citizen, have a high school diploma or GED and:
Have at least one of the following valid firearms instructor certifications:
- Certification from a law enforcement agency.
- Certification from a firearm instructor course offered by a state or federal governmental agency.
- Certification from a firearm instructor qualification course offered by the Illinois Law Enforcement Training Standards Board.
- Certification from an entity approved by the Illinois State Police that offers firearm instructor education and training in the use and safety of firearms.
Other things--you'll have to do in the permitting process ... pay $150 every 5 years. Out of state residents wanting to carry will have to pay $300 every 5 years.
While we're waiting to get the applications together, be sure to read up on the bill here.
Illinois was the last state in the nation to allow the lawful carrying of loaded firearms outside the home.