Illinois now joins the ranks of all other states with approval of the state's first concealed carry law. Both the House and Senate overrode Governor Pat Quinn's amendatory veto to a bill approved by both chambers in May. That means the law takes effect immediately.
However, under provisions of the new law, the Illinois State Police still has 180 days to implement concealed carry policies and set up a system for evaluating and honoring applications for permits. And once that deadine passes early next year, it could still take as long as 90 days for an applicant to receive their permit.
Despite the override, there was an attempt to keep some of Quinn's changes alive by adding them in as an amendment to a separate piece of legislation. That bill passed the Senate 45-13, but it's unclear if it will even be called in the House.